The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College R6 Sixth Form

Courses

16-19 Programme of Study at The Ridgeway Sixth Form College (R6)

All students follow a programme of study which combines both qualifications and other activities and which is tailored to each student’s prior attainment and career goals.

Students who do not hold a GCSE grade 4 in maths and/or English are required to continue these subjects as part of their study programme.
All students follow study programmes which include some work experience and non-qualification activities, and which complement the other elements of the programme and support them to progress to further or higher education or to employment.

To improve the life chances of students. R6 requires the majority of students to follow a level 3 mathematics qualification that provides them with the quantitative skills now needed in a wide range of jobs.

All students are encouraged to make positive choices from a variety of opportunities and enrichment activities within R6 and in the lower school including the very popular D of E scheme and Camps International expeditions, which offer excellent opportunities for integration and transition between KS4 and KS5. These first-hand experiences develop curiosity and a desire to challenge their understanding and deepen learning. The enrichment activities also take account student needs and career plans, as well as preparation for adult life more generally.


How to Choose Your A-levels

There are six things to consider when choosing which subjects to study in R6:

  1. Some degree subjects ask for specific A-levels. This is because they cover the basic knowledge and skills you will need later on.
  2. Certain A-levels can keep your options open for the future. These are known as facilitating subjects and include maths, further maths, biology, chemistry, physics, English literature, modern languages, geography, and history. If you have absolutely no idea what you might like to study at university in the future, or what career you might wish to pursue, it might be worth having 1 or 2 of these A-levels.
  3. Subjects are a lot tougher at A-level than at GCSE, so you need to be sure what you are taking on. If you are only ‘ok’ at a subject at GCSE, you need to ask yourself if you will be able to keep it up at A-level.
  4. Some universities prefer certain A-levels over others, so you need to check this out. This is because they feel that certain A-levels prepare you better than others for certain degree subjects.
  5. You need to get your facts straight. If in doubt, always check with a university or apprenticeship provider. Call them or check on their websites.
  6. Choose subjects that you will enjoy. Business, law, politics, and psychology are just a few of the subjects at university that do not require you to study particular A-levels.

Subject Leaders

CourseStaffEmail
ART
Fine ArtMrs H Wattswattsh@ridgewayschool.com
CREATIVE & PERFORMING ARTS
BTEC L3 Extended Certificate in Performing ArtsMrs S Hodgehodges@ridgewayschool.com
DramaMrs S Hodgehodges@ridgewayschool.com
MusicMrs R Jankinsonjankinsonr@ridgewayschool.com
DESIGN TECHNOLOGY
TextilesMrs P Lanelanep@ridgewayschool.com
Food Science and NutritionMrs K Stampstampk@ridgewayschool.com
Children's Learning and DevelopmentMrs K Gray & Miss L Hodgehodgel@ridgewayschool.com
Graphics CommunicationMrs P Lanelanep@ridgewayschool.com
Product Design with Resistant Material TechnologyMiss L Hodgehodgel@ridgewayschool.com
ENGLISH
English LanguageMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
English LiteratureMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES
Business StudiesMr J Edwardsedwardsj@ridgewayschool.com
EconomicsMr J Edwardsedwardsj@ridgewayschool.com
GeographyMiss A Curtis-Slaterslatera@ridgewayschool.com
HistoryMr J Bisterbisterj@ridgewayschool.com
LawMr A Northcottnorthcotta@ridgewayschool.com
Philosophy and Ethics (RS)Mrs B Leeleeb@ridgewayschool.com
PoliticsMiss H Butterybutteryh@ridgewayschool.com
PsychologyMrs R Harperharperr@ridgewayschool.com
L3 Applied Diploma in TourismMiss A Curtis-Slaterslatera@ridgewayschool.com
SociologyMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
MATHEMATICS
MathematicsMrs C Hortonhortonc@ridgewayschool.com
Core MathematicsMrs C Hortonhortonc@ridgewayschool.com
Further MathematicsMrs C Hortonhortonc@ridgewayschool.com
MODERN FOREIGN LANGUAGES
FrenchMiss I Beaurainbeauraini@ridgewayschool.com
GermanMr J Robertsonrobertsonj@ridgewayschool.com
GCSE SpanishMrs I Munozmunozib@ridgewayschool.com
PHYSICAL EDUCATION
BTEC Level 3 Diploma in SportMr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
PEMr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
SCIENCE
Computer ScienceMr G Mitchellmitchellg@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC L3 Extended Certificate in ITMr G Mitchellmitchellg@ridgewayschool.com
BiologyMrs L McMeekingmcmeekingl@ridgewayschool.com
ChemistryMrs C Hockinhockinc@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC L3 Extended Certificate in Applied ScienceMiss M Tucktuckm@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC L3 National Diploma in Applied ScienceMiss M Tucktuckm@ridgewayschool.com
PhysicsMr P Kenchkenchp@ridgewayschool.com
ADDITIONAL OPPORTUNITIES
PhotographyMr D Tivenantivenand@ridgewayschool.com
HSLA (Higher Sports Leadership Award)Mr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
Extended ProjectMiss I Morley & Miss M Humphreysmorleyi@ridgewayschool.com
Duke of EdinburghMr P Kench & Mr L Gregorykenchp@ridgewayschool.com
Maths & English GCSE UpgradeMrs Z Smith / Mrs C Hortonsmithz@ridgewayschool.com
Language for BusinessMr J Robertsonrobertsonj@ridgewayschool.com
Religious StudiesMrs B Leeleeb@ridgewayschool.com
Gold Arts AwardMrs P Lanelanep@ridgewayschool.com

Key Documents

Sixth Form Admissions

Register Your Interest

by submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.

The enquiry could not be sent, please make sure all the fields have been filled.

Thank you for getting in touch.

Register for School Updates

by submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.

The enquiry could not be sent, please make sure all the fields have been filled.

Thank you for getting in touch.

The White Horse Federation