Mathematics

IMG_1318

The Mathematics Faculty are looking to develop confident mathematicians who can apply their mathematical skills in many different situations. That is why we   not only focus on the basics, but inspire students to become independent learners and thinkers. We challenge students to succeed and support them to achieve their full potential. Beyond the curriculum students can take part in many enrichment activities including numeracy activities during mentoring time and the KS3 Swindon Maths League. Many of our students successfully compete in the UKMT Maths Challenges with students taking part in regional, national and international competitions.

 

The Team
Mrs Cheryl Horton, Faculty Leader –  hortonc@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Nicky Wicks, Assistant Team Leader (KS5 coordinator) –  wicksn@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Rosie Adams, Mathematics Teacher –  adamsr@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Liam Carney, Mathematics Teacher – carneyl@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Katie Dent, KS3 Co-ordinator – dentk@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Richard Fouracre, Mathematics & PE Teacher – fouracrer@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Graham Giles, Mathematics Teacher – gilesg@ridgewayschool.com
Miss Abie Marshman, Mathematics Teacher – marshmana@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Barry Pike, HLTA Mathematics – pikeb@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Shanti Francis, Maths Intervention Tutor – franciss@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Aled Northcott, Law and Mathematics Teacher – northcotta@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Matt Pauling, Senior Assistant Principal – paulingm@ridgewayschool.com
Miss Lydia Philpott, Teacher – philpottl@ridgewayschool.com 
Mrs Helen Wright, Teacher/Head of KS4 Maths – wrighth@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Neil Mallender, Teacher – mallendern@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Joe White, Teacher of PE and Maths – whitej@ridgewayschool.com

Time Allocation
All students in KS3 have 8 hours of Maths lessons a fortnight.

 

Setting arrangements
Setting Arrangements: Students are set within each band based on their mathematical ability. This is reviewed after each progress check and assessment week and set changes made when necessary.

 

Homework
Students will be set two pieces of homework each week, the tasks set may include learning formulae, finding out information, completing work started in class, mymaths tasks, as well as the traditional written homework task.

 

Useful websites to support students
The Maths Team subscribes to the mymaths website to support students in their independent study.
www.mymaths.co.uk
Login    ridgeway
Password  prime

 

Progression to KS4
The Maths Team believes in a 5 year curriculum beginning when students arrive in Year 7 and working towards GCSE initially and beyond onto A level. All the approaches and activities used in KS3 prepare students for the demands of the GCSE exams in KS4.

 

Please click on the links below for further information:

arrow   KS3 Teaching Outlines 2018-2019

 

 

The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation