KS4 English Language

1

The Team

Mrs Z Smith -Faculty Leader of English – smithz@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs. H. Siebenaller – Acting Faculty Leader of English – siebenallerh@ridgewayschool.com
Mr M Webber – Acting Faculty Leader of Englishh – webberm@ridgewayschool.com
Mr N Cairns – Head of KS4 English – cairnsn@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs F Williams – Head of KS5 English and Literacy Lead – williamsf@ridgewayschool.com
Miss M Humphreys – Head of KS3 English and EAL Coordinator-  humphreysm@ridgewayschool.com

 

Specification
Name –        GCSE English Language
Board –        AQA
Code –  8700

 

Assessment of Course
There are two formal examinations worth 100% at the end of the course. AQA has developed two equally-balanced papers, each assessing reading and writing in an integrated way. The final grade is awarded for students’ performance in the examinations.

 

Course Content
The English Language specification is designed to inspire and motivate students, providing appropriate stretch and challenge, whilst ensuring that the assessment and texts are accessible to all students. Students will develop the skills they need to read, understand and analyse a wide range of different texts and write clearly.

 

What will I study on this course?

  • Fiction and non-fiction
  • Creative writing
  • Spoken language

 

Helpful links
Course specification – please click here

Assessment resources – please click here

Exam Dates – please click here

Year 10 teaching outlines 2018-19 – please click here

Year 11 teaching outlines 2018-19 – please click here

The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation