KS4 English Literature

Picture2

The Team
Mrs Z Smith -Faculty Leader of English – smithz@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs H Siebenaller – Acting Faculty Leader of English – siebenallerh@ridgewayschool.com
Mr M Webber – Acting Faculty Leader of Englishh – webberm@ridgewayschool.com
Mr N Cairns – Head of KS4 English – cairnsn@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs F Williams – Head of KS5 English and Literacy Lead – williamsf@ridgewayschool.com
Miss M Humphreys – Head of KS3 English and EAL Coordinator-  humphreysm@ridgewayschool.com

 

Specification
Name –        GCSE English Literature
Board –        AQA
Code –        8702

 

Assessment of Course
There are two formal ‘closed book’ examinations worth 100% at the end of the course.
The final grade is awarded for students’ performance in the examinations.

 

Course Content
The English Literature specification is designed to inspire, challenge and motivate every student, regardless of ability level. We cover a range of texts including some that will be familiar, as well as new ones that will inspire teenage readers. The course is fully co-teachable with GCSE English Language, so students will benefit from the transferable skills and be awarded a second GCSE certified by AQA.

 

What will I study on this course?

  • William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet
  • Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol
  • J. B. Priestley’s An Inspector Calls
  • AQA’s Power and Conflict anthology of poems
  • Unseen poetry

 

Helpful links

Course specification – please click here

Assessment resources – please click here

Exam Dates – please click here

Year 10 teaching outlines 2018-19 – please click here

Year 11 teaching outlines 2018-19 – please click here


The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation