KS4 English Literature

Picture2

The Team
Mrs Z Smith -Faculty Leader of English & i/c Year 11 English – smithz@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs M Middlemass – Teacher of English – middlemassm@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs H Siebenaller – i/c Year 12 & 13 English – siebenallerh@ridgewayschool.com
Mr M Webber – i/c Year 12 & 13 English –   webberm@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs F Williams – williamsf@ridgewayschool.com
Ms A Tarrant – EAL Lead –  tarranta@ridgewayschool.com
Mr A Duckhouse – duckhousea@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs H Wilkins – wilkinsh@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs P Horsell – horsellp@ridgewayschool.com
Miss M Humphreys – humphreysm@ridgewayschool.com

Specification
Name –        GCSE English Literature
Board –        AQA
Code –        8702

Assessment of Course
There are two formal ‘closed book’ examinations worth 100% at the end of the course.
The final grade is awarded for students’ performance in the examinations.

Course Content
This new English Literature specification is designed to inspire, challenge and motivate every student, regardless of ability level. We cover a range of texts including some that will be familiar, as well as new ones that will inspire teenage readers. The course is fully co-teachable with GCSE English Language, so students will benefit from the transferable skills and be awarded a second GCSE certified by AQA.

What will I study on this course?
You will study whole texts including Shakespeare’s plays and texts from the nineteenth century. You will also explore a thematic poetry anthology.

 

All students are required to take both Language and Literature

 

The links below will enable parents and students to read the specification for course, sample papers and mark schemes.

To view the full specification for the course, sample papers and mark schemes please click here»
AQA GCSE English Literature Overview: First Assessment 2017 please click here»
To view KS4 English Teaching Outlines 2015 please click here»

Exam Dates:
Lang Paper 1 – 6th June am
Explorations in Creative Writing and Reading
Lang Paper 2 – 12th June am
Writers’ Viewpoints and Perspectives

Lit Paper 1 – 22nd May am
Shakespeare and the Nineteenth Century Novel (Romeo & Juliet and A Christmas Carol)
Lit Paper 2 – 26th May am
Modern Texts and Poetry (An Inspector Calls, Anthology and Unseen Poetry)

 

Additional Information:

arrow  English Exercise Book Standards


The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation