KS4 Maths

IMG_0962

 

Leader – Mrs C Horton
Email – hortonc@ridgewayschool.com

 

The Team
Mrs Cheryl Horton, Faculty Leader –  hortonc@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Nicky Wicks, Assistant Team Leader (KS5 coordinator) –  wicksn@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Rosie Adams, Mathematics Teacher –  adamsr@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Liam Carney, Numeracy Co-ordinator – carneyl@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Katie Dent, KS4 Co-ordinator – dentk@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Richard Fouracre, Mathematics & PE Teacher – fouracrer@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Graham Giles, Mathematics Teacher – gilesg@ridgewayschool.com
Miss Abie Marshman, Mathematics Teacher – marshmana@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Barry Pike, Mathematics Teacher – pikeb@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Shanti Francis, Maths Intervention Tutor – franciss@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Aled Northcott, Law and Mathematics Teacher – northcotta@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Matt Pauling, Vice Principal – paulingm@ridgewayschool.com
Miss Lydia Philpott, Teacher – philpottl@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Neil Mallender, KS3 Co-ordinator – mallendern@ridgewayschool.com
Mr Joe White, Teacher of PE and Maths – whitej@ridgewayschool.com
Mrs Agnieszka Richardson – Mathematics Teacher – richardsona@ridgewayschool.com

 

Assessment of Course – OCR J560

Foundation Tier (grades 5 to 1)
Paper 1        1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator permitted
Paper 2        1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator not permitted
Paper 3        1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator permitted
Each paper has an equal weighting

Higher Tier (grades 9 to 4)
Paper 4  1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator permitted
Paper 5  1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator not permitted
Paper 6  1 hour 30 minutes – Calculator permitted
Each paper has an equal weighting

 

Course Content
Maths is one of the core subjects of the National Curriculum and is compulsory.
Year 10 will be studying the new GCSE (9-1) in Mathematics. Many features of the new exam will be similar to the previous GCSE exams, however there is an increased emphasis on students being able to demonstrate their understanding of concepts and apply their mathematical skills through problem solving based in a range of contexts.
There is no coursework or controlled assessment in Maths, just 3 exams all of which will be sat at the end of Year 11.
As with previous maths GCSE exams the papers are a mixture of calculator and non-calculator exams and students will be entered at either Higher or Foundation Tier.

For all maths exams you will need some specialist equipment:
A protractor
A pair of compasses
A scientific calculator

(Casio scientific calculators are available to purchase from the Maths team through parentpay)

 

Further information:

To view KS4 Year 10 and Year 11 Maths Teaching Outlines 2018-19 please click here»

GCSE 9-1 PLC Foundation hyperlinks please click here»

GCSE 9-1 PLC Higher hyperlinks please click here»

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation