Courses and Contacts

Choosing your subjects…

How to choose your ‘A’ levels…

 

There are 6 things to consider when choosing which subjects to study in R6…

  1. Some degree subjects ask for specific ‘A’ levels. This is because they cover the basic knowledge and skills you will need later on.
  2. Certain A levels can keep your options open for the future. These are known as facilitating subjects and include Maths, Further Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, English Literature, Modern Languages, Geography and History.  If you have absolutely no idea what you might like to study at university in the future, or what career you might wish to pursue, it might be worth having 1 or 2 of these A levels.
  3. Subjects are a lot tougher at A level than at GCSE so you need to be sure what you are taking on! If you are only ‘ok’ at a subject at GCSE, you need to ask yourself if you will be able to keep it up at A level.
  4. Some universities prefer certain A levels over others so you need to check this out. This is because they feel that certain A levels prepare you better than others for certain degree subjects.
  5. You need to get your facts straight. If in doubt, always check with a university or apprenticeship provider.  Call them or check on their websites.
  6. Choose subjects that you will enjoy. Business, Law, Politics and Psychology are just a few of the subjects at university that do not require you to study particular A levels.

 

For further information please click on course or email the Subject Leader:

COURSESTAFFEMAIL
ART
Fine ArtMrs H Wattswattsh@ridgewayschool.com
CREATIVE & PERFORMING ARTS
BTEC L3 Extended Certificate in Performing ArtsMrs S Hodgehodges@ridgewayschool.com
DramaMrs S Hodgehodges@ridgewayschool.com
MusicMrs R Jankinsonjankinsonr@ridgewayschool.com
DESIGN TECHNOLOGY
Art/Textile DesignMrs P Lanelanep@ridgewayschool.com
Food Science and NutritionMrs K Stampstampk@ridgewayschool.com
Childrens Learning and DevelopmentMiss L Hodgehodgel@ridgewayschool.com
Graphics CommunicationMrs P Lanelanep@ridgewayschool.com
Product Design with Resistant Material TechnologyMiss L Hodgehodgel@ridgewayschool.com
ENGLISH
English Language & LiteratureMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
English LiteratureMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES
Business StudiesMrs R Lamblambr@ridgewayschool.com
EconomicsMrs R Lamblambr@ridgewayschool.com
GeographyMiss A Curtis-Slaterslatera@ridgewayschool.com
HistoryMr J Bisterbisterj@ridgewayschool.com
LawMr A Northcottnorthcotta@ridgewayschool.com
Philosophy & Ethics (RS)Mrs B Leeleeb@ridgewayschool.com
PoliticsMiss H Butterybutteryh@ridgewayschool.com
PsychologyMrs R Harperharperr@ridgewayschool.com
L3 Applied Diploma in TourismMiss A Curtis-Slaterslatera@ridgewayschool.com
SociologyMr M Webberwebberm@ridgewayschool.com
MATHEMATICS
MathematicsMrs Nicky Wickswicksn@ridgewayschool.com
Core MathematicsMrs Nicky Wickswicksn@ridgewayschool.com
Further MathematicsMrs Nicky Wickswicksn@ridgewayschool.com
MODERN FOREIGN LANGUAGES
FrenchMr J Robertsonrobertsonj@ridgewayschool.com
GermanMr J Robertsonrobertsonj@ridgewayschool.com
GCSE SpanishMrs I Munozmunozib@ridgewayschool.com
PHYSICAL EDUCATION
BTEC Level 3 Diploma in SportMr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
PEMr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
SCIENCE
Computer ScienceMr G Mitchellmitchellg@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC L3 Extended Certificate in ITMr G Mitchellmitchellg@ridgewayschool.com
BiologyMrs L McMeekingmcmeekingl@ridgewayschool.com
ChemistryMrs C Hockinhockinc@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate
in Applied Science
Miss M Tucktuckm@ridgewayschool.com
BTEC L3 National Diploma in Applied ScienceMiss M Tucktuckm@ridgewayschool.com
PhysicsMr P Kenchkenchp@ridgewayschool.com
ADDITIONAL OPPORTUNITIES
PhotographyMr D Tivenantivenand@ridgewayschool.com
HSLA (Higher Sports Leadership Award)Mr M McMeekingmcmeekingm@ridgewayschool.com
Extended ProjectMr J Bisterbisterj@ridgewayschool.com
Duke of EdinburghMr E Simssimse@ridgewayschool.com
Maths & English GCSE upgradeMrs Z Smith / Mrs C Hortonsmithz@ridgewayschool.com
Languages for BusinessMr J Robertsonrobertsonj@ridgewayschool.com

The White Horse Federation

»
Swindon Schools

Wiltshire Schools

Gloucestershire Schools

Oxfordshire Schools

Berkshire Schools

The White Horse Federation